7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 4, 2012 3:52 AM by timothySimonAugustine

License transfer from USA to India

timothySimonAugustine

Hi there,

My name is Timothy. I'm currently a hobbyist digital artist but would like to go professional. So am practicing a lot. I, at the moment, use gimp for all my texturing work and would like to switch to PS. More because it is an industry staple than with me having issues with gimp. I found a couple of older version in Amazon.us and the prices seemed favourable (compared to CS5's) so wouldn't mind ordering one of them. But my question is, would there be a license problem? With what I might be ordering an American version and actually using it in India? Or is it legit?

Thanking you in advance for any help,

Timothy Augustine.

• 1. Re: License transfer from USA to India
          Charlie.D Adobe Employee

Hi Timothy

This specific forum serves Photoshop.com, an online site and service, not the Photoshop CS product.  I'll move your question to the right forum for you.

• 2. Re: License transfer from USA to India
            timothySimonAugustine Level 1

Hi Charlie! I beg your pardon. I should have done more research before posting! Thanks!

• 3. Re: License transfer from USA to India
              Charlie.D Adobe Employee

It’s not a problem.  I just wanted to steer you in the right direction, especially if you have other questions to post in the future.

• 4. Re: License transfer from USA to India
                acresofgreen Level 4

My understanding is that if you buy a US version in the US, you are the licensed user and can use the software whereever you like.  But authorized sellers won't sell the US Adobe software outside the US.  I live outside the US and if I look at Adobe software sold by Amazon direct, I get a message telling me that Amazon can't ship the software to my default shipping address.