3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 5, 2012 9:58 AM by BobLevine

Landscape, left/right facing pages exports as landscape up/down facing pages

Malex25

Hello. I am new to InDesign (CS5) and ePUB and have an export/layout issue on a client's ebook.

The book is very graphics & design heavy, so I made jpgs and placed them in to facing pages of equal size to the original document. Since it is essentially a fixed layout ebook and in landscape format when it is exported it shows one page per landscape on eReaders then two (one up, one down) in portrait view. Is there a way to make it left right facing if the screen is wide enough in landscape and only one in portrait.

I do not own an actual eReader but have downloaded calibre and Adobe Digital Editions to view it. In both programs the facing pages show on the same portrait window but one is atop the other and it wont go right to left when resized.

Is this normal? I've tried changing the layout settings, document settings, master pages. I even updates to CS5.5 b/c I read somewhere that it had an update to page resizing in export but it didn't change anything...any suggestions?

Screen shot 2012-02-04 at 8.51.19 PM.png

^This

turns into

Screen shot 2012-02-04 at 8.40.28 PM.png

Screen shot 2012-02-04 at 8.40.53 PM.png

Marjorie

• 1. Re: Landscape, left/right facing pages exports as landscape up/down facing pages
          BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

I’m sorry to tell you this but that’s no way to create an epub…not even close. Additionally, for the most part EPUB is not a good choice for design heavy documents and you will need a pretty decent understanding of HTML and CSS in order to work with epub.

The very fact that you’re new to both InDesign and Epub means you have quite a learning curve ahead of you.

Here are some of my top recommendations.

1.       Upgrade to CS5.5 which is far superior for epub