3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2012 5:46 AM by the_wine_snob

Moving clips around is driving me crazy

13magnus

I'm a bit new to PE and have been spending some significant time making movies. This little annoyance has finaly caused me to seek some help.

I'll layout a series of clips and set them to certain points within a soundtrack.  I have nothing locking them in place, they're just in the timeline (I do this b/c I don't know if there is a way to lock them to a beat marker or a particular point on a timeline).  Anyhow, when I want to delete a clip, or adjust a clip on a seperate Video line, clips behind it automatically move.  I don't have everything on the same Video line, I have groups of them that are staggards.  But this is really driving me crazy, especially if I want to work further down the line of the soundtrack.

Is there a way to lock a clip to a beat or timeline marker?  Or is there a way to lock that clip in place so it doesn't move when I edit clips around it?

Thanks

Mag

• 1. Re: Moving clips around is driving me crazy
          nealeh Level 5

PRE doesn't allow locks (PrPro does). The feature that is annoying you is called 'Ripple Delete' and is the default behaviour.

To deactivate the ripple hold down the [Shift] key as you press [Delete]. You can also use the context sensitive menu - right click the clip and choose 'Clear' to prevent the ripple closing the gap or 'Delete and Close Gap' to perform the ripple.

1.png

Cheers,

--

Neale

Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your children

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Moving clips around is driving me crazy
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

You can also override the ripple feature by holding down the Ctrl key (the Cmd key on a Mac) as you add or move clips to and around your timeline.

• 3. Re: Moving clips around is driving me crazy
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.