5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 9, 2012 12:26 AM by PECourtejoie

How to reduce number of colors in an image

erleichda

I am fairly new to Photoshop and I'm learning as I go, so I apologize for using your time.  I haven't worked with images that much - I've used MS Digital Image Suite with photos from my camera.  That's the extent of my knowledge.

I am taking over a job from someone who is gone and I can't ask him how to do this.  He used Photoshop to reduce the number of colors in an image (for example, a color drawing or clipart) to 2-6 colors.  I haven't been able to figure this out.  I've visited this site that explains how to reduce tones but it's still a lot of colors.  I thought I might learn something from this link that explained how to make Photoshop cartoons, but I didn't.  I've done a lot of searching but nothing seems to explain this.  I know that the other guy had some knowledge of Photoshop but he wasn't a power user.

Thanks to anyone who will help me.  (I am using CS5.)

• 1. Re: How to reduce number of colors in an image
          c.pfaffenbichler Level 8

Naturally there are several options for what you are asking – but it also depends on what you really need as end result.

One possibility might be

Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Posterize

Another one would be to create copy of the image and use

Image > Mode > Indexed Color

and then edit the Palette (number of colors for example) and Options as needed.

• 2. Re: How to reduce number of colors in an image
            Trevor.Dennis Adobe Community Professional (Moderator)

It sounds like you are talking about a cartoon type gif image, and the Indexed colour is definitely the way to do that as above, but if you want to keep it as a jpg then Save for Web is a very useful tool, and you can see what affect it has on file size as you adjust the output options.  But I think you already had the right answer.

• 3. Re: How to reduce number of colors in an image
              erleichda Level 1