22 Replies Latest reply on Feb 11, 2012 3:09 PM by Peter Spier

Am I in Trouble?

Paul R Stark Level 1

I am just learning CS4. Although I have experience with PP, PS, & AE, ID seems to be a whole new animal.

I bought a template from VideoHive. It opens with 358 errors per PREFLIGHT in Basic, but missing links, etc. I understand because there are no images or fonts. But there are 19 overset text errors.

Now, a week into my first project, a workbook from a magazine template, a slightly customized PREFLIGHT is reporting 573 cyan, magenta, or yellow plate errors, 105 non-proportional scalings, 29 overset texts, and a bleed and slug error, and more.

How serious are all these, especially the non-proportional scaling? What if it's only non-proportional by 5%? I know I resampled low res jpeg images up to 300 ppi and saved them as PSD's, but that apparently is a big no-no. This will be sent out for printing, but I have a feeling I've a lot of work to do still.

Please tell me it's not as bad as it looks, but I'll take the truth--even if it hurts.

Thx.

Paul

• 1. Re: Am I in Trouble?
          John Hawkinson Level 5

Now, a week into my first project, a workbook from a magazine template, a slightly customized PREFLIGHT is reporting 573 cyan, magenta, or yellow plate errors, 105 non-proportional scalings, 29 overset texts, and a bleed and slug error, and more.

How serious are all these, especially the non-proportional scaling?

Overset text is extremely serious -- it means your text is getting cut off.

Bleed and slug depend on how your document is set up, and is probably not a large issue.

CMYK errors suggest you need to convert to RGB, either on document export or prior to placing photos.