11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2012 11:27 PM by D Fosse

How do I tone down hot spots in CS5?

dmarcht2 Level 1

How do I tone down hot spots in CS5?

• 1. Re: How do I tone down hot spots in CS5?
          Noel Carboni Level 8

Your question is a bit on the terse side, so I'll answer it in a similar vein:

One way is to use the Burn Tool.

-Noel

• 2. Re: How do I tone down hot spots in CS5?
            dmarcht2 Level 1

Sorry, I'm new to this. To be more specific, I am trying to tone down a bright light in a room. I tried the burn/dodge tool without much success. I also tried to mask the surrounding area and use the exposure adjustment, but it seems to tone down the whole picture instead of just the hot area. Any suggestions?

• 3. Re: How do I tone down hot spots in CS5?
              Noel Carboni Level 8

You could try the Shadows/Highlights filter (Image - Adjust - Shadows/Highlights).  You'll need to move many of the settings off their default values.  It can seem daunting because there are a lot of controls, but take some time with it.

Another tool that's even more sophisticated is the Image - Adjust - HDR Toning feature, which can be used to bring highlights under better control.

You've given up on the Burn Tool, but it has a lot of options that you may not have noticed when you tried it briefly.  It takes some finesse, and you really need to be a bit subtle with it or your image will look over processed, but if you need targeted image adjustments you can get very good results with Burning.

Post a small version of your image if you'd like; perhaps you'll get more direct suggestions.

-Noel

• 4. Re: How do I tone down hot spots in CS5?
                Noel Carboni Level 8

Here's an example I just worked up:

Original image with too-hot sun on face:

OriginalHotSpotImage.jpg

Results from careful use of Burn Tool:

BurnTool.jpg

Original image with Shadows and Highlights application:

ShadowsAndHighlights.jpg