14 Replies Latest reply on Feb 9, 2012 1:48 PM by John T Smith

Premiere Elements 9 Won't Capture DV Footage

joanna.harmon Level 1

Hi!

I'm a tech teacher and my school purchased Adobe Premiere Elements 9 in the fall for our video production classes. It has been working alright with our flip cameras ("alright" means that it freezes a lot but that's another story). However, it will not recognize our DV cameras when we try to capture footage via firewire. We are using the Canon Mini DV ZR960, and the Premiere Elements 9 manuel says that it does support DV cameras. I have tried this on different computers, with different firewire cables, and on different DV cameras. Still no luck. The capture window just stares at me with grayed out buttons that are unavailable. At this point, I have spent hours on the phone with Adobe and they just keep transferring me without any solutions. Can someone please help?

Thank you!

-Joanna

• 1. Re: Premiere Elements 9 Won't Capture DV Footage
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

First and foremost, are you absolutely sure you're using an IEEE-1394 and not a USB connection to your computer? (You should also check with your IT department and ensure they don't have your FireWire connections locked out. 100% failure on several computers seems awful high!)

That said, are you using a Mac or a PC? Which version of either operating system are you using? The 32-bit ot 64-bit version?

If it's a Windows computer, is Windows recognizing your connection to the camcorder? If so, you will likely see the camcorder icon on the right side of the Taskbar.

Meantime, you definitely shouldn't be seeing freeze-ups when downloading from a Flip cam. You're not downloading to your network, are you? Premiere Elements may not work on a network. Your media should be stored on an internatl drive.

• 2. Re: Premiere Elements 9 Won't Capture DV Footage
            joanna.harmon Level 1