5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 11, 2012 8:25 PM by woodygs

Transcoding Error Premiere Elements 10

woodygs

I would like to start by saying what a great forum this is, I am so glad I found it. The information here is...well, a little overwhelming at first.

I am new to elements 10,  three weeks ago. I am trying to create a slide show of mainly stills (4320x3240) and a couple of clips (1280x720). I have a blueray player so to maximize the quality of stills on the tv I would like to output to Share/Disc/AVCHD and burn to a DVD disc. I start the project with the preset of NTSC/AVCHD/1920 x 1080 because the pixel size is square as I believe my pics are. I have taken Bill Hunt's recommendations to heart and resized my pics to 1080 tall, which will make them 1440 wide. The reason I don't use the 1440 x 1080 preset is because it is not square pixels. Is this correct?

The problem I am having is once the project gets larger, 50 stills, 2 short clips, transitions, titles, etc. I end up getting a "Transcoding error" while trying to burn it to a DVD. When I try to burn a smaller project half that size, it completes fine and I have the best looking pictures on my TV. Is the transcoding error possibly caused by lack of system resources or is there something else I am doing completely wrong? My system meets and slightly exceeds the recommended specs for Premiere Elements 10.

• 1. Re: Transcoding Error Premiere Elements 10
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

If you're outputting to a DVD, your final video will not be hi-def. It will be 720x480.

What model of camera or camcorder is your 1280x720 video coming from? You'll want to set your project up to match that video format, so you'll need to know what model of camcorder it's coming from.