10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 13, 2012 2:38 PM by esn ferrol

Complex Rotation Animation

esn ferrol

Hello to everyone,

This is my first time here in the forum.

I have recentyl started using after effects and I am very surprised at how easy it is to create animation & effects with it.

My question is about a rotation animation I have come across.

Particularly, although I thought it was easy, I am not able to recreate the rotation of the icons at approximately 40sec of

this bluefx video. When the main icon explodes they all start to make a rotation animation around their vertical axis.

However, I cannot recreate it with simple rotations.

I have seen this animation in other videos as well, so I believe that there must be some kind of a technique (like a design

pattern) for it.

I have tried using the combination of a null object controlling a camera and setting the object to be rotated to "orient towards

camera". I see the animation in the RAM preview through another camera of the composition. However, when I render it the

animation does not show because the active camera is the one moving. And it is moving in order for the object to follow it. So,

the animation cannot be rendered.

I would be very grateful if anyone could help me out with this. Ideas, known techinques, anything.

Thanks a lot!

• 1. Re: Complex Rotation Animation
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

This is pretty clearly done in a 3D program and it even says so in the accompanying text. The rest sounds confusing. Not sure how you even came up with your idea of making matters complicated with cameras. All you will ever need is 3D layers and/or effects like Card Dance. There may be someone selling a template for that somewhere, but this can be pretty much all be done out of the box in AE. It will just take a moment to set it up. So what specifically is giving you trouble?

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Complex Rotation Animation
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP