6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 18, 2012 5:30 AM by Rick Gerard

How do I quadruple my resolution for all comps?

ccaleb.kingston

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to Adobe After Effects but I created a video at 1080p for a company. The company wants to use a single frame in that video to wrap on a company vehicle. The problem is the resolution isn't big enough to fit on a giant hummer. I tried changing the composition settings in each comp but there are tons and resizing means I have to reposition etc. It's just not working out. Is there a way to just quadruple the resolution of the entire project and then save just a single image from that?

Thanks,

Caleb

• 1. Re: How do I quadruple my resolution for all comps?
          bogiesan Level 4

A pixel is a pixel. You can make the pixels larger but you can never get any more pixels than exist in the source media. If you start with DV at 720x480 pixels and place it into a 1080 comp, scaling it up just makes the pixels larger. There are some expensive magic plugins that will upscale or uprez. I've never used 'em.

If your movies and photographs are larger than 1080, you can make your comp that size and redesign all of your effects at that one instant in the comp you wish to make into a still image. But you've also got to eliminate all unwanted motion blur and other video-induced artifacts. If your source material is no larger than 1080, you can hire a Photoshop expert who understands how to do rescaling using resampling algorithms. That's a question for the Photoshop forum.

• 2. Re: How do I quadruple my resolution for all comps?
            ccaleb.kingston Level 1