8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 21, 2012 7:29 AM by the_wine_snob

Red eye problems

johnedwards626626

Hi I'm new to this forum and an absolute beginner so please bear with me.

I would like to ask if anybody has a solution to the following problem.

I am working with Adobe Premier Elements 9 on a 2010 iMac running Mac OSX 10.6.8.

I always have a problem with the eyes of my Siamese cats. They have beautiful blue eyes with the usual black iris. Under flash photography they turn completely pink. Not red but pink. I have tried correcting this using the red eye reducter but it really looks terrible. Giving just a black blob on the eye, making it look dead. In one case the black dot even refused to stay on the eye and instead jumped to my wifes red finger nail. She is holding the cat.

Any ideas gratefully received and will be tried.

Thanks in advance.

John.

• 1. Re: Red eye problems
          nealeh Level 5

You need the Photoshop Elements forum for assistance with editing still images..

Cheers,

--

Neale

Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your children

• 2. Re: Red eye problems
            johnedwards626626 Level 1

Thanks Neale. I said I am beginner. That comes with posting in the wrong place. I shall now try and move my post.

Regards.

John.

ps. I don't have any children. But the old Alzheimer's light still seems to cause a problem from time to time.

• 3. Re: Red eye problems
              nealeh Level 5

Navigating the Adobe Forums can sometimes be a challenge . I prefer shooting (photographically) my cats with a bounced flash to reduce the flash reflections. If that doesn't work I'll edit the eyes manually. The PSE forum folk will be able to take you through the process.

And, as I'm writing this, I have a vague recollection of a new pet photo feature in v10 - I'll see if I can track it down.

Cheers,

--

Neale

• 4. Re: Red eye problems

Thanks Neale.

Problem is the Siamese are long gone.