8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 21, 2012 11:16 AM by Johnnsen

Switch pictures on keyframe in animation

Johnnsen

I'm not good with After Effects, I'm trying the demo and have a hard time grasping the basics, please bear with me here.

So my question here is, how would I switch a picture, like a body part, mid animation?

Example: I have a fighting character which I try to animate using the puppet tool, he has a torso, two arms and two legs, and a head. All separate image files.

Now lets say when doing a punch, his chest turns towards the camera, or arm changes perspective, or his fist goes from clenched to an open hand. How would I switch the image file at a keyframe so it has a different perspective? I know that in flash I could just put a different image in the next keyframe, but since each image file is a layer in after effects, I'm not quite sure how I could do this without cluttering it all up. I suppose I could add a layer for every single different version of bodyparts, but that would make the whole thing pretty confusing.

Is there an easier way?

• 1. Re: Switch pictures on keyframe in animation
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Same thing in AE. Just insert another image and edit the in and out points. No keyframes required.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Switch pictures on keyframe in animation
            Johnnsen Level 1

Thanks for your reply. Could you elaborate on that? Not sure I understood it right. So you mean insert another layer? Because whenever I drag a picture into my composition, it creates another layer. I thought I could have, you know, layer "arm" and then a few different versions of the arm that I can use on that layer, like in Flash. It seems that it would get incredibly cluttered when I need to have another layer for each version of a bodypart on the timeline. But maybe I didn't understand it right, I'd appreciate if you could go into detail.

• 3. Re: Switch pictures on keyframe in animation