2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 20, 2012 5:51 PM by Dov Isaacs

will InDesign replace Pagemaker 7 100%

Vexiss Level 1

I have been putting off upgrading to InDesign for several years now.

I have used Pagemaker for almost 20 years, and it does everything i need with no hassles, but now that i am on windows 7 i cannot convert to PDF's no matter what I do.

Before i make the conversion i want to make sure that InDesign will do everything i need it to.  I have several documents in pagemaker that i make very minor changes to about once a year, then submit them in a PDF file to get them printed.    My first concern is the conversion process - Will my pagemaker files convert over easily to InDesign?

My second concern is whether or not InDesign can convert to a PDF on it's own, or whether it needs additional software.

I am no longer creating new documents and do not want to invest a lot of money into software that i do not have any use for.  I just need something that can convert my old pagemaker files into new files, and can be saved as a PDF for my publisher.  I do not want to spend a lot of time learning a complicated program to do this simple task.

Anyone who has converted from pagemaker to indesign that can let me know about the conversion process? I would appreciate any input.  Thanks

• 1. Re: will InDesign replace Pagemaker 7 100%
          BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Whether ID can open your PM files successfully is something that you will find out on a case by case basis. The results will be anywhere from near perfect to unusable.

InDesign does not depend on any external applications for the creation of PDF.

Why don’t you download the demo and try it out?

Bob

• 2. Re: will InDesign replace Pagemaker 7 100%
            Dov Isaacs Adobe Employee