7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2012 1:29 AM by Peter Spier

Trouble importing a Pagemaker file into CS 5.5

David7402

I am VERY new to ID 5.5 (today is my first day). I m trying ID because it is supposed

to import Pagemaker files So in my first attemp to open a PM6 file it fails.

But i'm so new I dont even know who to 'point the finger at'.

The non-working symptom is that the PM doc has a number of images

which ARE importing correctly, and  bunch of body  text which also

is importing correctly. But each imported image has  small text area

associated with each one that contained a photo title in the original

PM file. The 'title' areas import as text box ares but the text boxes

are EMPTY.

I am to new with ID5.5 to even know where to start.  I cannot load

the former PM files  because my former PM was on a Windows XP

system, and I'm now on an Win7 (64bit) system and can no longer

install Pagemaker on this Win7 system.

I would be pleased to load any of the files if that wouls help.

eatc7402 (stumped)  eatc7402.55123@gmail.com

• 1. Re: Trouble importing a Pagemaker file into CS 5.5
          winterm Level 4

David7402 wrote:

The 'title' areas import as text box ares but the text boxes

are EMPTY.

Really? Maybe your text is just overset? Don't you see a little red plus sign at the right side of the text box, near the bottom?

• 2. Re: Trouble importing a Pagemaker file into CS 5.5
            David7402 Level 1

Yes I do see a small red plus sign... and when I attempted to print the document to

a pdf 'printer' it also complained about 'overset' text. But I'll admit i all means

almost nothing to me. Is it fixable I hope?

eatc7402

• 3. Re: Trouble importing a Pagemaker file into CS 5.5
              BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You need to back up a bit.

InDesign is not PM and opening PM files will be a crapshoot. They’ll open, but the results will be anywhere from nearly perfect to practically unusable.