13 Replies Latest reply on Jun 1, 2008 7:03 PM by ibolui

big swf file

ibolui
      hi, i would like to ask a question regarding flex. this is my first time trying out flex/flash. i have created a simple user profile form using flex as the frontend UI. this form merely consist of some text fields, comboxbox etc. but there are also a few array initialization. below are the codes..

the form is not yet finish, but the problem i have noticed is that the generated swf is alreay over 500kb. i thought that this is just a simple form with not much effects/animations etc, but already has quite a considerable filesize.

hence i would like to ask if there is a better way to code the form, or any other problems/solutions that will greatly reduce the swf filesize?

• 1. Re: big swf file
          Mitek17 Level 1
          You can't really go below 300-500Kb as this is the Flex framework components sitting in your SWF.

If you need something very small and quick - use Flash instead.

With Flex you have to expect that the app size will be at least 300K.

You should start to worry when you app will reach 1Mb limit, then you can start using other techniques as modules, RSL or just dynamic loading of external SWFs.

Cheers,
          Dmitri.
          • 2. Re: big swf file
            atta707 Level 2
            How about taking all the arrays out and store them on the server and load them after your application loads to start with.
            • 3. Re: big swf file
              atta707 Level 2
              one more thing: are you reporting size of debug version or release version SWF?

Relase version SWF should be much smaller than debug version.

Look into FB help for "Release Builds"
              • 4. Re: big swf file
                ibolui Level 1
                ohh.. i didnt know there are two different types of build. yup the release build is 316kb now. if a flex swf is at least 300kb, i guess is ok then :)