3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2012 6:49 AM by the_wine_snob

Premiere Elements 4 - No Sound in Editing Mode

baumgrenze Level 1

There is probably a simple answer to this. I've just begun playing with this software althought it is clear that I bought it a long time ago in a bundle with Photoshop Elements 6.0. I have no driving desire to create videos, but would like to be able to use the program to edit existing video files. I've some experience with audio editing using Audacity. I find it relatively intuitive and see some similarities between it and PE4.

I opened the program, started a new project, used Files and Folders to import a mpg file that plays fine. I dragged the file from the right pane into the one on the left and I can see video and audio tracks. I begin playing the file. I can see the video change images, but I hear no audio. I don't see a 'volume' or audio on/off switch and am at a loss how to search for such in the Help file.

I had one straightforward editing task that I could do based on images alone. I clipped the track at two points and deleted the selected portion and closed up the track. I think it is still seen as two clips, but I managed to export it as an avi file and that plays, with sound.

Now I want to edit out 40 seconds from the 30 minute mpg and export that as an avi file. My edit requires that I be able to hear the audio. How do I get access to it while editing?

thanks,

baumgrenze

• 1. Re: Premiere Elements 4 - No Sound in Editing Mode
          the_wine_snob Level 9

With Audio issues, I would start with this ARTICLE.

For MPEG Audio, I would also see this ARTICLE, as Conforming can mean all the difference.

Good luck, and let us know if anything helps,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Premiere Elements 4 - No Sound in Editing Mode
            baumgrenze Level 1

Thank you Bill,