6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 28, 2012 5:09 AM by Peter Spier

Total Newbie - Please help!

AngelaFougWebb

Hi! I am totally new to InDesign, and I'm trying to create a magazine front cover. I want my photo to cover the entire cover, but no matter how I resize or scale it - in InDesign, online with photo resizers, with Gimp - when I look at it at 100% magnification in Indesign, it looks fuzzy and pixelated. I saved it as a pdf, and it looks bad at 100%, too - but it looks ok at about 50% in both places. Will it look bad in print, too, or is that just on my screen? And how do I make a photo fit my page, without making it look all weird? Thanks soooo much!!!

• 1. Re: Total Newbie - Please help!
          Rik Ramsay Level 4

What application are you using to create the graphic? The image resolution should ideally be 300dpi at the final print size for printing. Eg: A4 is 210x297mm@300dpi. Also need to include some bleed in there, at least 3mm either side.

There could also be a couple of other reasons your screen is displaying this is as low quality. In InDesign, go to 'View > Display Performance' and select High Quality Display. This will slow your machine down but give you better visual results.

Also, what settings are you exporting to PDF with?

• 2. Re: Total Newbie - Please help!
            Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

In line with what Rik has said, when you select your image, check the link information or the Info panel and look at the "Effective PPI" value. That's the one that counts -- the resolution at print size.

• 3. Re: Total Newbie - Please help!
              AngelaFougWebb Level 1

Thank you so much - I really appreciate your help! I just checked, and it says it's 70x80 Effective PPI. How do I change it to a better resolution? Thanks again!!!!!

• 4. Re: Total Newbie - Please help!
                AngelaFougWebb Level 1