12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 29, 2012 2:23 PM by Marian Driscoll

trouble changing color of PSD file of a logo

Johnny the boy Level 1

I have a PSD file that has a logo in white against a black background.  I know how to change the black background to another color but I do not know how to change the white logo to another color and maintain the existing fade effect.  The outer edges of the white logo fade into the black background.

If I was to change the black background to a green background (#808A53) then I would like to know how to make the white logo fade into the then green background.

Ultimately I would like to make the white logo a red color (#7d110c) that fades into a green background (#808A53) but I do not know how to do this as I am a novice with Photoshop.

The PSD file I referred to is hosted here http://www.indiana.edu/~iutreas/img/blockiu.psd.

Help on the technique or instructions I need to use would be greatly appreciated as this has had me stuck for awhile.

• 1. Re: trouble changing color of PSD file of a logo
          c.pfaffenbichler Level 8

What kind of fade?

Would a Layer Mask (possibly on a Group) suffice?

Anyway, can’t you just load the Layer’s transparency (command-click the layer’s icon in the Layers Panel) and use it as a Layer Mask for a Solid Color Layer?

blockiuScr.jpg

blockiuScr2.jpg

• 2. Re: trouble changing color of PSD file of a logo
            Noel Carboni Level 8

Well, first, that image is not very large, at 22 x 28 pixels.  The logo design no doubt came from a higher resolution file at some point.  But if this is the size you need, one way you could change it, since your image is separated into logo and background, is by doing a fairly simple fills...

Since the background layer is solid, you could just set a foreground color of #808A53 and fill it with the bucket tool.