5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 29, 2012 2:52 PM by Peter Spier

Placing Text, Multiple RTF Files

RIP FCP Level 1

I'm new to InDesign, so I apologize for asking such a basic question.

I've gone through Linda.com tutorials and read some instructional books, so I'm somewhat familiar with what I'm trying to do.

I have several *.rtf files that I want to import, or Place into a document.

When I select multiple files, I am able to place one at a time. But each one always places into a new text frame.

I'd like to be able to Place  all of them in once click into one continuous text frame? One that will expand across pages as needed?

Is that possible?

• 1. Re: Placing Text, Multiple RTF Files
          Joel Cherney Adobe Community Professional & MVP

In your shoes, I'd concatenate my RTFs into a single file, and place that. When placing, I'd hold down the Shift key - that would autoflow the whole RTF doc.

I tried it with multiple RTFs in the place gun, and when holding down Shift it'll still autoflow, but it won't take you straight to the end of RTF no. 1 when you're ready to place RTF no. 2, and it'll place no. 2 in a separate text frame.

• 2. Re: Placing Text, Multiple RTF Files
            RIP FCP Level 1

Joel Cherney wrote:

I tried it with multiple RTFs in the place gun, and when holding down Shift it'll still autoflow, but it won't take you straight to the end of RTF no. 1 when you're ready to place RTF no. 2, and it'll place no. 2 in a separate text frame.

That's  what I have been doing, Shift+Click. But I have to load each RTF file into a new frame.

Joel Cherney wrote:

In your shoes, I'd concatenate my RTFs into a single file, and place that. When placing, I'd hold down the Shift key - that would autoflow the whole RTF doc.

Is there an easy or automated way to concatenate the files?

• 3. Re: Placing Text, Multiple RTF Files
              Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)