10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 6, 2012 5:49 AM by DannehJ

Help making replica magazine page?

DannehJ

Hi everyone.

I am having a hard time making a replica of this page from a Highlight Children's Magazine in inDesign CS5. http://i39.tinypic.com/5ofhu8.jpg  Yes this is for a project for my school,but I don't understand my professors directions. I've asked him countless of times how to approach this and all he says is "I've explained it already".  I have with me some scans of the word highlight and the logo they use.

I have two main concerns:

1. How would I go about getting the mouse and the red box + text together? I know it has something to do with the text warp tool (I believe) but I would appreciate a little bit more feed back on this concept.

2.How would I get the text of the paragraphs to resemble the same structure (so that everything matches up perfectly)?

I'm sorry I can't further explain it in details. I'm not experienced in this program but I really want to learn with some proper guidance.

Thank you to anyone and everyone who comments/ assists!

P.S. Any other pointers would be appreciated as well

• 1. Re: Help making replica magazine page?
          Michael Gianino Level 4

There are some good books on learning InDesign. Is there a text for the course you are taking? I ask because you may already be using one.There is also Lynda.com, which has video lessons that you can subscribe to on a monthly or yearly basis, plus a few that you can view free of charge. Rather than tell  you step-by-step how to do this, I think it would be better for you to get with one of the other students and see if the teacher is really not communicating well, or if maybe you just need a little extra help. You may also need to speak up in class if you don't understand something.

DannehJ wrote:

I know it has something to do with the text warp tool (I believe)…