4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2012 8:33 PM by Jess kitten 77

copying cordia new font (thai) into indesign

Jess kitten 77

Hello lovely people!

Im a graph designer, but i dont have much experience in using multicultural fonts.Im currently working with thai font in ID CS5

and im having issues copying and pasting the font from word or outlook into ID CS5.When i copy it over the font cordia new

is not consistant with what it looks like in word.Some characters are not copying over correctly.I have tried using another

font which was DokChampa, which displayed the problematic characters correctly, but then this font displayed other characters

incorrectly apparently.Im going to have to work with chinese,arabic,and korean font later down the track too.

Does anyone have any tips for this problem, possibly a different thai font type that works good for copying & pasting?
      Thanks and have a great day

• 1. Re: copying cordia new font (thai) into indesign
          Joel Cherney Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Hi Jess,

I'm not a graphic designer - I'm a localization engineer/translation industry DTP wonk/et cetera. The short version of the answer you need is "you need to have the World-Ready Composer turned on." It's not in the documentation, but a Google search for that term should get you started. In addition, you need to get used to placing text instead of copying and pasting, not only because that's the safest way to get text into ID in general, but because clipboards will do funny things to complex-script text, depending on the OS and base OS language.