7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 12, 2012 8:56 PM by cgidude

Rec601 / broadcast safe colors

cgidude

using premiere pro CS5.5 or TMPGEnc+ i'm exporting MPEG2 files for PAL broadcast.  i'm able to create an MPEG2 file which i'm pretty sure will meet all specs of the digital delivery service, however as i'm new to broadcast delivery i'm unsure of the quickest way to comply with Rec601 levels.  

apologies in advance for noobness of my post but does Rec601 basically mean restricting luminance between 16-235...?  that's easy enough to level but what about color saturation...?

i understand there are good tools out there for this like Color Finesse, but this a very low budget project & at this stage i just need a fast solution. 

any info much appreciated.

kind rgds,

-paul

• 1. Re: Rec601 / broadcast safe colors
          shooternz Level 6

Heres a quick and dirty explanation and solution ( because I do not know your BC specs)

You need to limit Luma and Chroma Levels.

It is "content dependent" so you need to look closely at what is in the clips ( in the timeline) before you export to your delivery media.

Content dependent means video and graphics at any frame in the timeline and what the levels are... combined and separately

Eg a black clip may be o.k until your peak white graphic is overlayed on top of it.

Therefore legalise all the clips and graphics.

How:

Open all the scopes and look for clipping and excess in Luma and Chroma. ie where the peaks go flat or above.

Simple solution: Get the levels down so they dont clip or exceed.

Different content requires application of different Effects ( controls).  Its a bit trial and error but LEVELS is a good start point. Curves is another. R,G,B Channel Curves is another.  Set a video Luma Limiter eg. 95% High and 5% Low  may work.

I usually need more than one effect on a clip.

Its a fiddle in PPRO but very doable ...(and its a bit easier in Resolve where there are functions such as Soft Clip and precision WFMs)