7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 13, 2012 4:28 PM by peterattrsb

Learning path for Dreamweaver newbie?

spreadman

Hi all,

I'm looking for a bit of advice one how to get started on a learning path for Dreamweaver CS5.5.

I want to be able to develop e-commerce sites and plan to use Business Cataylst to do the backend stuff.

I developed a few thing in Flash (CS3) a few years back and have a background in IT (although my programming experience is dated!) so I'm not a complete novice but know nothing of HTML/CSS.

I wonder if anyone could give me a steer on what I should concentrate on learning and if there are any particular books/resources I should consider?

Thanks in advance and regards.

• 1. Re: Learning path for Dreamweaver newbie?
          martcol Level 4

spreadman wrote:

... I'm not a complete novice but know nothing of HTML/CSS.

I wonder if anyone could give me a steer on what I should concentrate on learning and if there are any particular books/resources I should consider?

Thanks in advance and regards.

Hello

I think you answered your own question.  I came to DW as a coding novice and a DW novice and think that I got caught up with learning DW.  That set me back almost a year, I reckon.  The more you know about HTML and CSS and other web technologies, the better partner DW will be.  If you are familiar with Photoshop as a digital editor then it would be like saying the more you know about photography, image processing and camera technique, the easier it will be to learn.  Or maybe, with Illustrator, the more you know about printing and color, the easier that will be.  Dreamweaver however, in my experience is the least intuitive software unless, you have a good grasp of HTML and CSS.