7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 15, 2008 2:45 AM by Shakazulu89

help with sqlconnection!!

Shakazulu89
      hello hello
      i am fairly new to flex, but have read a lot and know where to get help resources from..
      i couldnt figure out why ive been getting this error:

i am trying to set up a connectiong to SQLdb file that ive created using SQL..
      it is called TimeLog..
      This is the code i used:

import flash.data.SQLConnection;
      import flash.data.SQLMode;
      import flash.events.SQLErrorEvent;
      import flash.events.SQLEvent;
      import flash.filesystem.File;

public var conn:SQLConnection = new SQLConnection();
      public var timeLogsDB:File = new File("C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.1\MSSQL\Data\TimeLog");

try
      {
      conn.open(timeLogsDB , SQLMode.UPDATE);
      trace("the db opened!!");
      }
      catch (error:SQLError)

{
      trace("Error Message:" , error.message);
      trace("Details:" , error.details);
      }

and the error i get is on the first line after the try statement:
      error 1120 access of undefined property conn
      error 1120 access of undefined property timeLogsDB

can someone please help me here.. the only thing i can think of is that im pointing to the file directory the wrong way ...
      anyway any help would be appreciated...
        • 1. Re: help with sqlconnection!!
          justria Level 1
          Beforehand, a short note, that you can open SQLite DBs, no DB files from other DB systems. Especiall, you can't connet to MS SQL server or those files MS SQL Server created.

In general, you code is fine.

I'd propose to simplify

>>>
          public var timeLogsDB:File = new File("C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.1\MSSQL\Data\TimeLog");
          <<<

like this:

>>>
          public var timeLogsDB:File = new File("C:\TimeLog");
          <<<

Does this work for you?
          • 2. Re: help with sqlconnection!!
            justria Level 1