5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 13, 2012 11:40 AM by cdunn120

Odd head turn help for 2d animation.

cdunn120

I've been following online tutorials from lynda.com and I'm very new to AE. I wanted to animate my characters from my webcomic (Maybe NSFW) http://sotsog.net/archive/23-necronomicon/ and after reading up and experimenting with Flash it turns out AE would be a better fit.

The tutorials I'm following are incredibly helpful but the character used in the demonstration has some different replacement animations as well as a completely different mouth. For my characters the mouth is always at a side view and I don't mind a small blink or hole in the animation when going left to right but this has lead to some issues.

http://sotsog.net/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/4.jpg

I'm at the point in the tutorials where I'm creating a master control where my head will continue to turn on the slider and allow me to easily change the mouths. Through the course I've already set up rotating head/eyes/mouth. At this point I'm removing each part that will use some sort of replacement animation from my "head" comp and putting them into a master control. So my blinks/mouth/head rotation should all be set in there. In the example the demo character's mouth moves from left to right in a fluid motion and used an expression with:

a=thisComplayer("head").timeRemap;

b=timeToFrames(a);

b*13.5.

This was for just moving the x-axis. Because my character is "flat" im not worried about y axis or scale at the moment.

My mouth does not move at a constand rate like the example.

Here I am at frame 0

http://sotsog.net/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/1.jpg

Frame 10

http://sotsog.net/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/2.jpg

Frame 20

http://sotsog.net/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/3.jpg

On Frame 10 and 20 they are kinda in the same spot. my x/y positions read

146.5, 165.0

105.5, 167.7

102.5, 167.5

Again I'm not worried about the y axis