3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 14, 2012 7:19 AM by dohanlon

FormCalc syntax and scripting issues

cniethe1997

Hi, I'm a total beginner at LiveCycle and FormCalc. I have been trying to create a simple form for a school assignment in which the user enters numeric data into a table and the last coloum then is calculated via FormCalc scripting. The equation which I have been attempting to express using FormCalc is  simple, (Cell1-Cell2)/Cell3*Cell4. I skimmed through a few tutorials but obviously my understanding of FormCalc and LiveCycle in general is insuffecient. I am hoping someone who could easily do this will help save me from having to learn FormCalc, any help or advice will be very much appreciated.

• 1. Re: FormCalc syntax and scripting issues
          dohanlon Level 3

You just need to select the field you want the calculation to appear in and go to the calculate event in the script window and use the following in formcalc

$ = ( Cell1 - Cell2 ) / ( Cell3 * Cell4 )

or whatever the corresponding field names are.

Also, you need to cater for empty fields, either set the cells to be numeric with a default value or extend the script to test if a value has been entered yet. Something like

if ( HasValue( TextField3 ) and HasValue( TextField4 ) ) then
              $ = ( TextField1 - TextField2 ) / ( TextField3 * TextField4 )
          else
               < some other calc here / or nothing>
          endif

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: FormCalc syntax and scripting issues
            cniethe1997 Level 1

I appreciate the help but I actually wanted to know how to do,

(Cell1 - Cell2) / Cell3 * Cell4,

not

(Cell1 - Cell2) / (Cell3 * Cell4).