14 Replies Latest reply on Mar 22, 2012 4:02 PM by Todd_Kopriva

Custom Shatter Map - Getting Artifacts

ShanaNunez

Hi there -

I'm pretty new to After Effects and I've been working on a project where I'm taking a logo (designed in dots) and using the shatter effect to bring it together. I'm using a custom shatter map and setting the shatter map image back to the logo image itself. This gives me the perfect shatter effect where my dots separate out just as I was wanting. However, I'm getting some bad artifacts as well as my dots becoming pixelated around the edges themselves.

I've watched two tutorials on this site on using the custom shatter map. I've tried a couple of different things like duplicating my logo and recoloring it, making it black and white, using colorama on it, etc. but all give me worse results.

What am I missing here? Thank you so much in advance for any tips you can give!

Here's the render of the logo comp (I'm reversing this for my effect).

http://vimeo.com/38466319

Here is an image of the confetti-like artifacts I'm getting.

confetti.jpg

What I'm using:

Mac OS X 10.7.2

After Effects CS5

• 2. Re: Custom Shatter Map - Getting Artifacts
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

It's simply a limitation in the effect you'll have to live with. You might try using MiniMax or Matte choker to clean up the edges, but some artifacrts will always be there. And if it's really just confetty, you have plenty of otehr alternatives from CC Ball Action to Card Dance to good ole Particle Playground.

Mylenium

1 person found this helpful
          • 3. Re: Custom Shatter Map - Getting Artifacts
            ShanaNunez Level 1

Thanks for the response Mylenium. I'm actually not looking for a "confetti" look - that's just how I described the artifacts I'm getting. I'd really like to get a clean edge on it.