4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 19, 2012 10:04 AM by kokorito

Value Objects and AMFPHP issues!

l33tian Level 1

Hello all...i'm a newbie when it comes to flex/flash Remoting...I have been using AMFphp for quite a while but my recent projects didnt need strong typed objects not until now! I tried doing it the lazy way, you know, by just passing the result object from the RemoteObject Service into an array like i have always done in the past. this is how i do it from the resultEvent callback function.

var Units:ArrayCollection = new ArrayCollection(event.result as Array)

The Result Returned is an Array of Objects but flex receives it as an object containing an array of objects which is why i am casting it in the line above.

This arrayCollection is meant to act as a data provider for a list i built with a custom item renderer which displays it items using properties of the objects contained in the array. But i'm getting this annoying "unable to bind to property 'xxxxx_xxxx' on class 'Xxxxx' (class is not an IEventDispatcher). Any help will be appreciated as i'm suspecting my problem has something to do with Object proxies, RemoteClass Metetags, and explicit types!..help!

• 1. Re: Value Objects and AMFPHP issues!
          PierreSolutions

The lazy way might not work in this situation. You may have to loop through event.result and assign each object to an instance of a locally defined class that you add to your array collection. Just a few more lines of code.

I think if you need to use dataBinding you will have to define the class of the objects in the array and in that class definition, you need to indicate [Bindable].

Then, you should be able to use dataBinding on the instances of that class.

for (var i:int = 0; i< event.result.length; i++)

{

var rec:VOMyClass = new VOMyClass();

rec = parseMyClass(event.result[i]); // or maybe rec = event.result[i] as VOMyClass ...

Units.addItem( rec );

}

1 person found this helpful