11 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2012 10:29 AM by BobLevine

Importing files into ID CS5.5

mentlity Level 1

I need to create an E Book from .pdf files already designed. I see that ID does not allow .pdf files to be imported. I would think there is a way either thru using Acrobat, Photoshop or Illustrator to convert the .pdfs into files that would be importable. I also did a search on this and see there are converters outside of Adobe?

I'm a newbie to ID and need to know the best way to do this task.

Any help?

RD

• 1. Re: Importing files into ID CS5.5
          BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You can most certainly place a PDF in InDesign but they will not convert to an EPUB without being rasterized.

The result will be crap.

If you give us full details on what you’re trying to do we may be able to help, but from your opening remarks I assume you have a lot of learning ahead of you.

Bob

• 2. Re: Importing files into ID CS5.5
            mentlity Level 1

I work in Flash, Photoshop, Illustrator, DWeaver and Edge I know this does not make me an ID guru to say the least but I need to publish an ebook for someone. I have the original files as multiple .pdfs I need to get those into ID. so I can export from there as epub's I know the rasterizing term you mentioned and understand that and was under the impression that I need to import the creatives (with the neccessary settings) to ID but I'm stuck on how to do correctly. Second fact is the original pdf files are 2400 x 2395 pixels each page and need to make sure I will not lose quality when importing to ID.

Thanks for helping me out here

Rd

• 3. Re: Importing files into ID CS5.5

File > Place is the command you are looking for but this is not the way the create an epub.

I will repeat my earlier assessment. It will look like crap.

Depending upon the layout you may have better luck converting the PDF directly to EPUB using Calibre.