4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 27, 2012 6:53 AM by jfleish89

Splitting and Organizing Clips

jfleish89

Hi all,

I'm starting a video editing project using Adobe Premier Elements 10 and while I have some experience with Final Cut, I'm relatievly new to Adobe Premier Elements. I have one video that is 35 minutes long and I would like to split it into many smaller clips, rename, and reorganize the clips in folders in the project menu. Is there a way to do this? I have no problem splitting a clip and renaming it but the program doesn't seem to let me take that clip and put it back into the project menu or into a new folder.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Best,

Jamie

• 1. Re: Splitting and Organizing Clips
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

The easiest way is to edit your long Clip, and then use the WAB (Work Area Bar) to Export/Share to discrete AV files.

The format chosen for that Export/Share will depend on the material that you are editing. What is the format/CODEC of your Source Files?

Good luck,

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Splitting and Organizing Clips
            nealeh Level 5

Bill has assumed you mean a physical splitting of the clip and if that is what you are after then he has given you the answer.

But you might also consider virtual splitting within a project.

In the Project Media panel you can create one or more project folders using the Folder icon:

1.png

You can then take your 35 minute clip and create duplicates of it in your new folder(s). NB: These are not physical duplicates, only the original 35 minute clip is on your hard disk. So you don't have to worry how many duplicates you make, they do  not take up extra hard disk space.

2.png