3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 26, 2012 8:20 PM by David Zeno

Mercury Playbak Engine and GTX 470?

Mandalore _65

Hey everyone,

I'm a bit of a noob here, but i've been trying to optimize my experience with Premiere CS5. I have an intel i7-950 @3.07GHz with 6GB of RAM. I also have a GTX 470 with 1.25GB of RAM. I'm a bit miffed at my slow render times. When rendering, my ram fills up to the max (planning to get more) and my cpu is working at a mid to high level across the cores. I feel like my gpu should be helping out a bit more with the load, and I wanted to enable the CUDA cores for the mercury playback engine. I have two questions, though. First, how much is this going to help me with render times? And second, supposedly after the hack i'm supposed to change the General setting from Mercury Playback Software Only to Mercury Playback With GPU Acceleration. However, I haven't done the hack yet but I already seem to have the GPU acceleration selected. Does this mean my card is just being used without CUDA? Just want a bit of clarification. Thank you all in advance,

M65

• 1. Re: Mercury Playbak Engine and GTX 470?
          Powered by Design Level 4

The GTX 470 is on the list of approved cards and thus does not need the hack to enable hardware MPE.

http://helpx.adobe.com/x-productkb/policy-pricing/system-requirements-premiere-pro.html#ma in_Adobe_Premiere_Pro_CS5_system_requirements

GLenn

• 2. Re: Mercury Playbak Engine and GTX 470?
            Mandalore _65 Level 1

Thank you so much, I guess it must have been updated since I last checked it.

• 3. Re: Mercury Playbak Engine and GTX 470?
              David Zeno Level 1

I have the 470.  First off ... no hack is needed .... it's an officially supported card.

Remove the card, put your old card back in and look carefully at your time line, it will be RED. ( when there is footage on it )

Now, put your new 470 in, and look at your time line, MAGIC ! .... your timeline is now YELLOW.