6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2012 9:18 AM by jpcraig4357

Export to pdf problem

jpcraig4357

I need to export an entire book file to PDF for the printer. All images are tritones - but the end up flat and light in the PDF.

1- the same images export to pdf from Photoshop beautifully

2- I am using no compression, conversion, etc. in my export

This is my first time working with tritones. The results were such that printing from Photoshop to my 7800, they are almost indistinguishable from their grayscale equivalents. In InDesigh they look good (although they do go light and flat when I set Overprint Preview).

Can anyone help, thanks…

• 1. Re: Export to pdf problem
          Daniel Flavin Level 4

Will this book be printed offset with 3 spot inks?

Have you placed Photoshop psd files or exported PS images to pdf to place?

• 2. Re: Export to pdf problem
            jpcraig4357 Level 1

I appreciate any help I can get. Not a newbie by any means, except to tritones, etc.

Yes, Black, and two patone grays. I've done it now both ways, all psd and all photoshop pdf image files (I really thought that one would work). Both ways images show up faded and flat when ID file is exported to pdf - no compresseion or anything. (In Ink dialog I see the colors, don't know what that means.)

I even tried substituting a pantone black spot color for the default balck, but that didn't work either.

I found this elsewhere on the Adobe site - confusing to me:

"To export a duotone image to a page-layout application, you must first save the image in EPS or PDF format. (However, if the image contains spot channels, convert it to Multichannel mode and save it in DCS 2.0 format.) Remember to name custom colors using the appropriate suffix so that the importing application can recognize them. Otherwise, the application may not print the colors correctly, or it may not print the image at all."