4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 29, 2012 8:27 AM by Pierre Devereux

After Effects CS5 - Sourcing Extra Resources

Pierre Devereux Level 2

Hi,

I am extremely new to the world of Adobe CS5 and After Effects (I purchased Production Premium last week friday) and will be using it for film editing.

I would like to know if there is a "Best Suggested" site that i can go to, to buy some extra resources - and by "resources" I mean:

1) Backgrounds

2) Film Footage (Forrest fly-overs, Volcanic eruptions - that sort of thing)

3) Textures

I see that there are many pre-loaded options in After Effects and a lot of the footage I want can be custom designed, but i am hoping to save some time by purchasing a few pre-made clips.

any other suggestions as to where a complete newbie should start would also be greatly appreciated!

Thank You

Pierre Devereux

• 1. Re: After Effects CS5 - Sourcing Extra Resources
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

For stock footage, it's tough to beat Artbeats... so to speak.  A google of "Animated Backgrounds" and Textures will reveal plenty of sources, many of them free.

But that's not your greatest concern, I think. 

After Effects is NOT your typical video application.  Familiarity with other video applications does NOT imply knowledge of AE.  It's feature-laden, and to the newcomer, many vital features appear to be hidden.  While it's becoming more and more of a universal application, its roots lie in professional use, e.g. Hollywood, major networks, major-market TV stations, production houses and large corporations.  Places where people had already mastered the basics, and could more easily pick up the basics particular to AE.  Knowledge of the AE basics is assumed before you can really work well with the application.

Oh, you can try to use AE intuitively, but you're certain to miss a lot.  It's virtually certain you would face frustration and waste valuable time.  If you're resolved to use AE, I strongly recommend an extended visit to this page: