Hello people.

I have collected my work from the printers and this is what I have got:

70K.jpg

The text was composed in InDesign. I have set it to these color settings:
      C 0%

M 0%

Y 0%

K 70%

I have expected a solid dark grey color, which I got when I ran tests on my desktop printer.

What I got is more like Halftone Screen effect.

Could it be that I have messed up my PDF?

The printers had difficulty understanding English, so I could sort this problem with them.

Cheers.

• 1. Re: Halftone Effect Print
          Daniel Flavin Level 4

what you've posted looks to be a scan of a printed piece...it appears to be 70% k.

Are you expecting solid Gray?

• 2. Re: Halftone Effect Print
            BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Looks right to me. If you wanted solid gray you should specified a spot color at 100%.

Bob

• 3. Re: Halftone Effect Print
              Not_Relevant Level 1

I am quite new to printing.

With my desktop printer I got better results, the screen effect was not as visible. Although it was set to K 70%, one could tell, that CMY was used as well, because the color was not entirely consistent.

So I was expecting something like that.

If I would have set the spot color at 100%, would digital printer try to replicate it by mixing CMYK rather than only K?

• 4. Re: Halftone Effect Print
                Jeffrey_Smith Most Valuable Participant

What you see is a 70% tint of black, 45 screen angle, probaly at 150 LPI. The only way to print solid is with a spot ink like PANTONE Cool Gray 10. The printer might be able to use a finer line screen, 175LPI or 200LPI, but this is dependent on output device, press, paper stock, etc. Your desktop printer is printing a microdot, which makes it appear solid.

• 5. Re: Halftone Effect Print
                  Rik Ramsay Level 4