3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 20, 2008 2:47 PM by Steveorevo

Flash vs Director

layerburn
      Our company has an upcoming job that is going to be a high definition 720p kiosk with joystick controller for interactivity and high def videos. I'm a flash animator myself so naturally I want to choose Flash as I'm going to be doing all of the interactivity, but I'm trying to decide which would really be better for the situation. I've researched and read many of the advantages/disadvantages to both programs, but I'm still confused as to which would be best. Most of the information I read was from the MX versions of both programs or before 2005. So i'm not sure as to how correct the information is. I'm aware of flash's current abilities but not director's. Can anyone help shed some light? (also posted in the flash forum for flash's side)
        • 1. Re: Flash vs Director
          mikem75 Level 1
          I have created kiosks using 720p mpeg2 video and Director MX2004 with recent updates in Dir 11. 720p video plays fine using Mpeg Advance xtra.

I've also created a kiosk using a joystick to pan a subsection of a video around the screen. In this case it was a helicopter simulator for a science center. Gives you the impression you are flying.

Haven't done one with both joystick interactivity and hi def video yet, but can't imagine it would be a problem. There are lots of great xtras out there to play the video and interface with josticks.

• 2. Re: Flash vs Director
            Steveorevo Level 1