6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 4, 2012 2:20 PM by Islanders66

Replace with After Effects comp

Islanders66 Level 1

I'm sorry if this has already been discussed. I did a search, asked some friends and still having trouble.

This is my first time using the replace clip in Premiere with After Effects comp and I can't figure out how to either maintain cross disolves or be able to create new cross disolve after the new After Effects comp is in the Premiere timeline. Should I add cross disolves before using this replace with AfterFX comp or should I add disolves after? Right now when the clip is replaced in Premiere the cross disolve is lost and when I go to add a new one, I get the "not enough data and some frames will be repeated" warning. Then the disolve looks dirty.

This is the last thing I need to do before it's finished.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Replace with After Effects comp
          Stanley Arthur Level 3

Replacing with AE Comp will delete the dissolve, yes. The repeated frames issue is caused by the fact that when you replaced with an AE comp, you lost any "handles" you might have had from the original footage. To compensate for that, make the clip preceeding the new AE Comp clip a little longer (assuming that it has "handles"), then drag the AE Comp clip over the end of it a bit. Drag it the same amount that you want the dissolve to last, then apply the dissolve.

This is a terribly clunky way to describe it, which is why I like to do quick tutorials, but I hope this description works for you.

• 2. Re: Replace with After Effects comp
            Islanders66 Level 1