2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 4, 2012 5:08 PM by the_wine_snob

time-lapse video from existing series of pictures...

rogeremigh

I am new to Premiere Elements and looking for instructions on creating a time-lapse video from a folder of still pictures taken using a GoPro camera.  So far the Help has only discussed creating time-lapse from a video feed.  great thanks for any suggestions...

• 1. Re: time-lapse video from existing series of pictures...
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

If you are ONLY using Still Images, and no Video, then you will want to determine your delivery, say DVD-Video, or BD, or posting to YouTube in SD, or HD. That will determine the Project Preset that you will choose.

Let's say that you will wish to deliver the Project via a BD (Blu-ray Disc). If so, then you can choose a 1920 x 1080 Project, at either 30 (29.97) FPS for NTSC, or 25 FPS for PAL.

I would Scale all of my images to 1920 x 1080 in Photoshop, or Photoshop Elements. This can be easily done with an Action for an entire folder of Images. See this ARTICLE for some tips.

As for Import, there are probably two ways to handle that, but someone will have to give you exact instructions on the second, if PrE now supports Importing Numbered Stills Sequences, like PrPro does. I believe that it now does, but use PrPro for such, that I have not explored it. The other is pretty straight forward. When I Scale my Still Images, I number them sequentially, so that file ____00001 is followed by ____00002, etc. through the last Image in the sequence.