3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 5, 2012 10:52 AM by bdfowler00

Script for finding character styled text and moving to particular coordinates.

bdfowler00

I'm pretty new to scripting and am struggling my way thorugh it.  I'm working on a project that involves moving some particular text on every page of a document to a certain area.  I've got 14 catalogs and every page has a page header at the top telling what's on that page.  Previously each one was in the middle of the top of the page.  I now want to move each one to the outer corners of the page.  They are all tagged with the same character styled called "Thick Blue Header".

I found a script on these forum that I can use to move the text to a desired location.

for (n=0; n<app.selection.length; n++) {

app.selection[n].move([0.2505, 0.25]);

But the problem there is it will be a different location depending on if it's on an odd or even pages.  The one above is for the even pages.  The coordinates for the odd pages are 15.6135, 0.25.

So basically I'm trying to figure out how to write a script that does the following.

Find text with certain character style ("Thick Blue Header") applied.

On even numbered pages move that text to coordinates 0.2505, 0.25.

On odd numbered pages move that text to coordinates 15.6135, 0.25.

Thanks for any help you guys can give me.

• 1. Re: Script for finding character styled text and moving to particular coordinates.
          Laubender Adobe Community Professional & MVP

@bdfowler00 – are you really looking for odd or even numbered pages?
          OR (and then it could be a different answer) do you looking for right hand and left hand pages?

If the latter, look for the "side"-property of the "page" object, if your document has facing pages:

See the following example:

//We only work on documents with facing pages:
          var d = app.documents[0];

if(d.documentPreferences.facingPages == false){