4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 8, 2012 7:38 AM by the_wine_snob

Cropping not working

fresno_bob

Hi I'm applying crop effect but when I share the clip to MPEG video for use on other computers the cropping is gone. I'm a total newbie so I suspect it's something stupid.......

• 1. Re: Cropping not working
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Bob,

Just to make sure that I am following correctly, you have applied the Effect>Crop, then adjusted it in the Effects Control Panel (Edit Effect for the Selected Clip), and then, when you Export/Share your Crop Effect is not showing up?

First, maybe we should step back just a bit:

1. What are the details of your Source Footage?
          2. What is your Project's Preset, chosen at New Project?
          3. What are the adjusted settings of the Crop Effect?
          4. What are the Export/Share settings of your MPEG?

Good luck, and let us know just a bit more, please.

Hunt

• 2. Re: Cropping not working
            fresno_bob Level 1

OK the Source footage is PAL Standard MPEG (It's actually exported from PE)

It's PE 9 I'm using

I'm a total newbie so I'm just going into project>New

The crop just crops some of the height

The export settings are PAL Standard MPEG

• 3. Re: Cropping not working
              Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Unlike when you crop a photo, cropping does not change the dimensions of your video frame, Bob.

It only changes the size and shape of the video within the frame. Your video is still going to output at the same dimensions.

• 4. Re: Cropping not working
                the_wine_snob Level 9

Bob,

Steve describes the Effect>Crop very well.

The Video Frame Size is fixed, when one chooses any Project Preset. It might differ from Preset to Preset, say being 1920 x 1080 for an HD Preset, to being 720 x 480 for an NTSC SD Preset. However, it is fixed to THAT Frame Size.