3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 9, 2012 9:15 AM by Suntower

Crisp Text Rendering Into FLV

Suntower Level 1

Driving me nuts. I'm a web dev with very little AE experience... and even -less- Flash experience. I do understand video and work in Premiere a lot.

I posted this question in the Flash area and got stuck. I'm hoping you can help me.

http://forums.adobe.com/message/4318484#4318484

To recap:  We want to do a little  video which is essentially a PowerPoint presentation... some images that cross fade one to the next; some text that slides left and right and a voiceover. I typically do this in Premiere because I can do the dissolves and titles in nothing flat. (It has a drag n drop way to apply dissolves.)

But my client wants it to be a landing page, which plays on load on their web site so a SWF seems appropriate. -And- text tends to look fairly crap in Premiere. Finally: It would be -really- nice to have the 'video' play with a transparent background... which I realise is easily done in Flash.

I gave it a shot in Flash but found it -really- hard to do these things which are so simple in Premiere. Working with "Tweens" to do smooth fades took forever. So I'm trying to do it in AE as I read that text renders a lot crisper.

But my initial efforts here are -also- running into walls.

1. No matter what I try, the text -still- looks crap when played from an SWF... although if I view the FLV in Media Player it looks -fine-.

2. I can't get a transparent bg.

3. I can't figure out how to do 'dissolves' (Cross Fades) as in Premiere... Yeah, I can add keyframes and opacity, but I was hoping there was a faster 'drag n drop' kind of deal as in Premiere. I've tried the 'dissolve' effect and all it seems to do is make the text blurrier.

The current fiasco may be viewed @ http://burtengineering.com

My comp is 550 x 413. My render options are: FLV,  On2 VP6, Frame Rate: 15fps (original)  RGB + Alpha, Millions Of Colors, PreMultiplied Matte.

Any suggestions?

TIA!

---JC