4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 12, 2012 9:58 PM by RyanBigDog86

Need help ASAP (Camera usage)

RyanBigDog86

Hi guys!

I'll get right to it... I'm brand new in Adobe After Effects, but I think I've adapted to it greatly thus far, but I'm stuck on one thing.

I'm following this tutorial from from AETuts+:

http://ae.tutsplus.com/tutorials/motion-graphics/design-rhythmic-motion-typography-in-afte r-effects/

I've done everything in the tutorial correctly so far, but I'm stuck at the part at 10:05 into the video.

I have everything set up like he does in the tutorial. I created my camera, my null object, linked the camera to the null object, set my text and null object for 3D, etc, etc.

However, notice how in the video when he slides the camera position to zoom in, mine will NOT do that for some reason. On my version of CS5 my screen looks almost exactly like his does, but when I click on my Null Object, hit "P" and scroll it to make the camera zoom in my words, it just will NOT zoom in.

I see a box on the outsize of my video that I believe is illustrating the zoom level of the camera, but that's the only thing that moves. It doesn't actually zoom in or out on the video itself.

Here's a picture of my what my set up looks like right now:

http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/6227/adobeae.png

I'm in the middle of this tutorial, so any immediate responses are greatly appreciated! Thanks for the support.

• 1. Re: Need help ASAP (Camera usage)
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Let me clarify something right off the top. When you say you can't zoom in I believe you mean you can't dolly or truck in on your shot. A zoom is something you do with the lens. Personally, I think they look funny and I only use a zoom on rare occasions.

If you have made the ull the parent of the camera, and you can't make a movement on the Z axis, that means your null is  still 2-D. Change it to 3-D and all should be well.