3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 19, 2012 7:52 PM by Ned Murphy

Actionscript 2 syntax question

jdhughen Level 1

I have a style sheet that I want to apply to a large group of dynamic text fields but not to the whole fla. Is there a way to address all my content fields and apply the sheet in a single statement ?

now I have

var myStyleSheet:TextField.StyleSheet = new TextField.StyleSheet();

myStyleSheet.load("styles.css");

content_box1.styleSheet = myStyleSheet;

content_box2.styleSheet = myStyleSheet;

content_box3.styleSheet = myStyleSheet;

content_box4.styleSheet = myStyleSheet;

content_box5.styleSheet = myStyleSheet;

etc etc.....

I'm new to actionscript 2 and not sure how to do looping structure. Currently there are 15 of these "boxes" but this could grow, how would i go about doing some kind of "for/next" loop like..

For n=1 thru 15

content_box(n).styleSheet = myStyleSheet;

next n

OR

could you do some kind of If/then structure ??

OR just

content_box1.styleSheet, content_box2.styleSheet, content_box3.styleSheet, content_box4.styleSheet, content_box5.styleSheet, content_box6.styleSheet, etc = myStyleSheet;

A solution based on the first concept would be prefered cause I could setup vars updated dynamicly so it would make it very easy to add boxes and content on the fly via the xml file.

Thanks

Joel

• 1. Re: Actionscript 2 syntax question
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You can use bracket notation to have strings targeting objects...

for(i=1; i<16; i++){

this["content_box"+i].styleSheet = myStyleSheet;

}

• 2. Re: Actionscript 2 syntax question
            jdhughen Level 1

Ned, et al,

Thanks for the quick response.  that's perfect.