4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 19, 2012 6:20 PM by shooternz

Batch transcode project media?

Andrew Gingerich Level 1

I've been cutting a project in native AVCHD (.MTS files shot on the Sony FS100), with the intention of conforming the media used in my finished sequences to DPX files for grading in Resolve Lite (Resolve 8 can't handle .MTS files natively). My question now is: how the heck to I get my sequences out of Premiere and into Resolve? I'm a little new to Premiere, so I'm not sure if I'm overlooking something obvious…

In FCP7, it's a simple task to open up media manager and transcode the project media to a different format, omitting unused media and adding handles to the clips, if desired. Try as I might, I can't find a way to achieve this in Premiere.

The only way I can see to get my edit into Resolve is to export the sequence as a single file and use Resolve's scene cut detector to split apart the shots. This is less than ideal for a number of reasons—I have to move all my video down into a single track and strip out all the transitions, for instance, and because the shots have no handles, cross-dissolves represent a logistical nightmare.

Is there another way?

• 1. Re: Batch transcode project media?
          Jim_Simon Level 8

If you can hold out a week or two and plan to upgrade to CS6, you will have the integrated option of coloring in SpeedGrade, a professional grader comparable to the full version of Resolve.

• 2. Re: Batch transcode project media?
            Andrew Gingerich Level 1

I would very much like that (and I would very much like to believe that CS6 is coming out in a week or two rather than a month or two). I plan to upgrade to CS6 as soon as it is released, but am I trapped inside a walled garden until that happens?