3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2012 6:35 AM by Laubender

How to access the visibility of layer comps in indesign through scripting? [JS][CS5.5]

Mr mattaias

Hi,

I'm pretty new to scripting in adobe, but I thought this should be a simple one (think again...):

I wanted to go over an array of all the psd-images in a selection or on a page in indesign, and then try to set their layer comp to a specific one (like "Diffuse".

In photoshop I could make an action that would do this for me, but it seems that there are no easy ways in Indesign to do this.

There also seems no way to change the layer comp or layer visibility for multiple selection...

If anyone knows if it is possible at this moment to use layer comps in scripting (and how) or some kind of action for Indesign, I'll try to tackle the rest of the problem myself (and be forever grateful).

If it isn't possible, I how it will be in CS6.

Thanks to anyone interested,

Mattaias

ps: currently trying to solve this in JavaScript for CS5.5.

• 1. Re: How to access the visibility of layer comps in indesign through scripting? [JS][CS5.5]
          Laubender Adobe Community Professional & MVP

@Mattaias – see the following links to Jongware's DOM documentation of InDesign CS5.5:

http://jongware.mit.edu/idcsjs5.5/pc_Image.html

http://jongware.mit.edu/idcsjs5.5/pc_GraphicLayerOption.html
          http://jongware.mit.edu/idcsjs5.5/pc_GraphicLayer.html

and play around with "currentVisibility" and "viewState" properties.

To apply specific properties for multiple selection you have to loop through all single selected placed PSD files.
          Of course you have to do some checks, if a certain graphic layer is there, how the state is etc.pp.:

var mySelection = app.selection;

for(var n=0;n<mySelection.length;n++){
              if(mySelection[n].graphics.length === 1 && mySelection[n].graphics[0].imageTypeName === "Photoshop"){