5 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2012 3:45 PM by Gil1

How to create a filter to do a bitmapdata compare and another to do a threshold?

Gil1 Level 1

I am new to PixelBender. I have looked at it many times in the last few years, but I can understand how it works.

I want to compare a large number of images and I would like to try PixelBender to create a filter that does the same thing as the

I think PB should be faster.

Also, I want to create a filter equivalent to the AS3 BitmapData threshold() method.

Any suggestions on how I can do those 2 filters?

• 1. Re: How to create a filter to do a bitmapdata compare and another to do a threshold?
          Gil1 Level 1

I experimented a little trying to do the equivalent of a BitmapData.compare() in Pixel Bender by writing it as:

<languageVersion : 1.0;>

kernel compare1

<   namespace : "Your Namespace";

vendor : "Your Vendor";

version : 1;

>

{

input image4 src;

input image4 src2;

output pixel4 dst;

void

evaluatePixel()

{

pixel4  color = sampleNearest(src, outCoord());

pixel4  color2 = sampleNearest(src2, outCoord());

if (color == color2) {

dst = float4(0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0);

} else{

dst = float4(1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0);

}

}

}

It kind of work when selecting GPU, but when selecting Flash as the way to run it, it produced a different result (and not at all what I was expecting). Only it seems to work OK when the pixels on both images are either black or white.

Any ideas why this is not working? And off course any suggestions on how to create a filter that does something similar to BitmapData threshold are welcome.

• 2. Re: How to create a filter to do a bitmapdata compare and another to do a threshold?
            PS::Chuck Adobe Employee