4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2012 12:14 PM by Ned Murphy

How do you call different layers of a symbol in actionscript?

DLee2499

Hello,

I am new to flash cs5 and am making a flash program to simulate interactions between aircrafts. I have two objects, leftplane and rightplane. Then, I have sub-symbols (don't really know what they are called) that have different tweens. For example, I have my leftplane in the timeline, I double click it to bring up leftplane1 which has a tween, and then I double click it again to bring up leftplane2 which has a different tween. I want to trigger the animations for these tweens by buttons, which I have already inserted. However, I do not know how to call these seperate tweens to trigger them. Currently, I am trying to do:

leftplane.play();

leftplane1.play();

leftplane2.play();

I receive error 1061 stating "Call to a possibly undefined method stop through a reference with static type of Class." Any help resolving this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

• 1. Re: How do you call different layers of a symbol in actionscript?
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

It sounds like you have planes as children of planes.  Based on what you explained you would need to target the inner planes via the out planes...

leftplane.play();

leftplane.leftplane1.play();

leftplane.leftplane1.leftplane2.play();

It doesn't sound like your error has to do with the code you show.  I seems as though you have a class and you are trying to use a stop(); command for it.  You use a stop for a movieclip symbol/timeline, not a class.

• 2. Re: How do you call different layers of a symbol in actionscript?
            DLee2499 Level 1

Ned,