• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Fresh install of PPro CS5.5 on Mac - missing presets and AVCHD support

Community Beginner ,
Feb 26, 2012 Feb 26, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Oh, this is crazy.  How on earth is this not bug-fixed?

I'm in the middle of setting up a new editing suite for my Secondary school where I am a Media Studies teacher.  I've got a handful of Macs running fresh installs which I've installed new legal, site licensed Premiere Pro CS5.5 installs on.  By default, as in many workplaces, the Macs require admin passwords for internet and install settings, which I applied.  None of the machines have had trial versions od PPro CS5.5 or previous versions of PPro.

The issues:

1. None of the fresh installs contain the presets for  AVC-Intra, AVCHD, Digital SLR, XDCAM EX, XDCAM HD422, and XDCAM HD.  Which is kind of a disaster, as we have brand new Panasonic HDC-SD900 AVCHD cameras waiting to load up footage for editing.
  2. Further to this, none of the macs will load or recognise the AVCHD footage when I try to add it.  I get "unsupported compression type" errors.

Am I missing something basic here, or am I about to enter the "delete everything adobe, reboot, reinstall, reboot" loop from hell to try and fix an entire roomful of machines?   Is there ANY way to check if the presets are on the Macs?  Is there any way to link them back into PPro if they are?  And finally, is there any way to get CS5.5 to recognise AVCHD as a recognised format (which is why I bought the site license in the first place!  Premiere Pro is meant to have the easiest AVCHD compatibility of all the editing suites!).

Grr.  Dammit.

Ideas?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Mar 01, 2012 Mar 01, 2012